The Second Battle for Acceptance: Society

Posted on May 23, 2012

0


Image

“Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.” – Dr. Seuss

As I struggled throughout high school to fit in and be accepted by my peers, I was always told that everything would work out once graduation day came along. The tales of college life were grandiose, to say the least. People would be more accepting, I was told. Friends would come in abundance, and girls would suddenly realize that spending life dating heartless men was a life wasted, and would be seeking out the nice guys whenever possible. Life would be happier. Though there was one small detail these Prophets of Good Fortune forgot to mention: that maybe, just maybe, all the aforementioned depended on demographics. Whether this omission was intentional or due to simple ignorance is unclear. Either way, their predictions have only been slightly true.

At the time this is being written, I have only been in college for one year. So far what the Prophets had said about people being more accepting has proven to be true. But that only seems to be due to the fact the no one is really interested in anyone else. Everyone either is attending with longtime friends from high school or just really does not want to be there. This also is the cause for the other predictions of the Prophets to be null and void. Back to what I had mentioned about demographics, I believe there are few geographical causes for the predictions to have failed. First may be that I’m attending a community college. Whereas the entire student body may not entirely consist of those who care little about education, they make up most of the population. Second might be that, simply, it’s San Diego. The beaches are nice, as is the weather. Also, San Diego is only about an hour or so drive from Los Angeles. That includes Hollywood, entertainment capitol of the world. Thus most people in the area suffer from Pretentious Personality Disorder, or PPD for short.

Maybe it is too soon to pass judgement on college life, considering it has only been a year. I have made at least one friend, as I always do, and at least three acquaintances; whom I added to my Facebook, however, reluctantly so. I had deactivated my account a number of weeks prior; when I was going to return seemed indefinite. I used to be the average Facebook-addict, being on it almost 24/7, and always making useless posts about nothing. Then one day it hit me. As I looked at my profile, there were numerous posts about nothing. Big surprise, but what got to me was that my posts were very similar in nature to my friends’, yet their posts merited dozens of ‘likes’ and comments, whereas all of mine had neither. Embarrassed, mortified, and somewhat angered, I went through and deleted every post I had made within the last few weeks, leaving nothing but my recent activity. After that, I made some observations.

Paying close attention to others’ statuses, I realized that in order to merit recognition for what I say, I should share big accomplishments. For a while I didn’t share anything, until I got a new car; sort of. It was a dark purple 1995 Dodge Intrepid. My status after purchasing it was as follows: ” Woo! I got a new car! A 1995 Dodge Intrepid!” Maybe it was the oxymoron? (You know, since I said new car, yet it clearly was not) Or was it that no one cared about Dodge Intrepids? Either way, when I returned a while later to post a picture of it, there were no ‘likes’ or comments on my status. I went ahead and posted the picture, thinking that maybe everyone might like it better, since they could actually see it. A while later it finally got a ‘like’, from someone whom I barely ever spoke with. I finally did some searching through my news feed, to try and reassure myself somehow. Maybe people were not on, or had not seen my picture or status; they might have signed on long after they were posted. But alas, I came across a post that said: “New life goal: To become ambidextrous!” It was posted around the same time I had shared the news of my car, and received about a dozen likes, and not quite as many comments. But that was enough for me. My opinion, my accomplishments, were clearly of no value to anyone.

For a while after I questioned myself. Why was it that no one valued what I had to say? Was it all too idiotic, or was it simply because no one cared for me in general? I had read articles about Facebook in which the author states that it is not an accurate way to gauge one’s worth. After all, it is just a social network. Yet it is valued so highly in American society. Our society prides itself on those who are ‘popular’; that is to say, affable and shallow, beautiful and promiscuous, and deceitfully perfect. The terrain of the Second Battle for Acceptance was a far cry from high school; it is larger and more complex. More enemies with greater destructive capabilities. Although, as with the first Battle, the best way to outmaneuver your foes is to know yourself first, to see exactly where you might fit in, and form alliances. But again, since it has only been a year since my graduation, it is probably too early to make any definite decisions on what life is like now, and what the future will hold. For now, the best solution is to wait and see.

 

 

Posted in: Memoirs