Isaac

Posted on April 21, 2013

0


Isaac. That name holds a lot of meaning to me. If you look it up, it means “He will laugh.” And boy, have the Isaacs I’ve known laughed. There have only been three such people with that name in my life, and all three of them had managed to bring about distress. The first one I met in tenth grade. He became my closest friend that year, as well as my worst enemy.

Three weeks after my high school crush was broken up with by my other close friend-turned enemy, Isaac decided he liked my crush too. A few days after returning from spring break, he asked me, “Do I have your permission to date her?” (Note: Not stated word for word, but it was something along those lines) What choice did I have? After observing them flirting and following each other around the past few days, I’d say the decision to date her had already been made. No use standing in front of a moving train.

My response to him was, “Make her happy.” And he did. For two years after, they were the happiest couple anyone had ever seen. Until it all came crashing down the middle of senior year. But how their relationship ended is besides the point. The point here is Isaac, and all that that name entails.

The second Isaac I met senior year, at a different school. Although his name was spelled slightly different, (Issac, I think) the events that took place were very similar. There was another girl that I liked, not as much as my previous crush, but still a lot. She lives in my apartment complex, which is how we originally met. When I told her I’d be transferring to her school, she offered to introduce me to her friends. Issac was not among them.

To be honest, I can’t recall how this Issac became involved in my life. Considering he was not among the bunch that I was originally introduced to, I’d say he just came out of nowhere. But that’s besides the point. Here’s what happened:

At the time, my now closest friend had a big crush on this girl as well. Everyday I was basically the third wheel with them, as the two would talk and talk, confide in each other. You know, the works. I was left walking along side them silently, for I wasn’t really welcome to engage in their conversations. I could walk away without saying anything, and the two wouldn’t notice. (You might be thinking, why did he like this girl, if she obviously didn’t care about him? My answer: Good question)

I eventually stopped hanging out with the them, in favor of Issac’s company. That worked out pretty well until Issac confided in me his feelings for this girl. Again, I somehow got stuck in the middle. I was made to introduce them, and things basically went from there. (Another question you might be asking yourself is, Why does he willingly set himself up for failure like this? My answer: You pose good questions) Although things didn’t work out, they still ended up being friends through the rest of high school and beyond, while her and I stopped talking to each other. So it goes.

Isaac Number 3. He was hired at my work about a month ago. And guess who he has bonded with so well recently? The girl I like! Now whether or not the two will date is beyond me. From the conversations I’ve had with this girl, she doesn’t like relationships. She just hooks up from time to time. Will she hook up with this Isaac? Hard to say. Because even though you’ll see them walking around with each other quite frequently, always carrying out tasks side by side, this girl has also told me that she’s not into hooking up with coworkers because it’s weird. Reasonable enough, if she meant it. Or it turns out she makes exceptions. I’ve been lied to by my crushes before, so who knows?

Is there a morale here? If there was, what would it be? Stay away from guys named Isaac (Or Issac), because they’ll steal the girl you like? Nah. For me, it’s Isaac. (Or Issac) For someone else, it’s a different name, with different memories and emotions behind it. Although a friend once told me I shouldn’t have anything against the name, just the person(s), the name Isaac has become my symbol for heartbreak, disappointment, treachery and sadness.

Posted in: Essays