Walmart Saves Money to Live Better

Posted on April 17, 2015

0


Walmart has come to the spotlight in recent weeks over some pretty big issues; wage increases, standing up against discrimination. It seems like the big company might actually be headed down a progressive route. People might not look at it as harshly now. But what people seem to forget is that when a company does something like this, it’s not usually going to be a true act of altruism. There are calculations involved in everything that a big company like Walmart does. Meaning, if it says it’s going to give its workers a raise, what it’s going to do is compensate to make sure it’s not actually giving them anything. 

Let me break it down for you, being a “proud” Walmart slave..

I mean, associate. 

Every year Walmart would give raises based on performance. ‘Solid Performer’ is the category most associates fall in, followed by ‘Exceeds Expectations’ and and ‘Role Model.’ The raises for these are forty, fifty, and sixty cents, respectively. Or, really, those were the raises. Now, I’m assuming in order to compensate for having to pay us more, the raises are based on percentages. So Solid Performer is 2.75%, followed by 3.5% and 5% respectively. Which means, instead of the forty cents I would get this year, I’m only going to get 2.75% of 11.10, which is roughly thirty cents. New associates who get hired on will get even less. 

Some raise, huh? 

Oh wait, I forgot to mention, I work overnight as well. The differential for that used to be a dollar fifty. Now it’s just a dollar. But guess what? My base pay went up fifty cents, so it’s not like I’m losing anything. 

But I’m not gaining anything either. That’s Walmart’s idea of a raise. 

Besides that, I can’t complain much about the place. My managers give promotions to people with write-ups. They tell me they’re going to give me a position to my face, but then recommend someone else behind my back. 

What’s not to like? 

Walmart – Save money, Live better ®

Posted in: Uncategorized