Trust

Posted on May 6, 2016

0


Looking through my binoculars, I sighed.

“Godfuckingdamnit,” I mumbled to myself, packing my binoculars away and running over to my car. I slammed the door shut harder than intended, and almost broke the key in the ignition turning the car on. Throwing the little Focus in reverse and stomping on the gas pedal, I wasn’t sure what I was doing. Since when did I have a conscience?

When I hit the street, I shifted into drive and hesitated, staring at the long road ahead of me. With the sky turning a hellish red and orange quickly, I heard her scream again.

“Fuck it.” I floored it, the little engine roaring back at me in protest as it flung forward. I reached the intersection faster than I expected, and made a hard turn, the tires squealing. At the end of the next block, I saw her; along with what was chasing her: a pack of infected. There were more than I originally thought, but it was too late now. I was balls deep.

I reached the pack first, a few of them whipping their heads around in curiosity. Two of them broke off and dived for my car, hitting the passenger windows hard as I passed. As I got closer to the woman I unlocked the doors and rolled down the passenger window a crack.

“Get in!” I yelled when I rolled up next to her. She looked at me, the desperation in her eyes changing to gracious relief. She threw open the door and got in, and we left the hungry pack behind us.

 

After we got a ways away from the city, I noticed she kept glancing back at something. Though she seemed to be trying to keep it discreet.

“What are you looking for?”  The suspicion was thick in my voice, but I couldn’t help it. Her looking back was really starting to bug me.

“Is this all you have?” Her eyes narrowed a little, and her right hand disappeared behind her waist. This wasn’t going to end well.

“Yeah.” I slammed on the brakes as I saw her draw a pistol, but her reflexes were fast. She managed to have it pointed in my direction, firing off a round before her face hit the dash. The bullet took a chunk off my nose as it flew into the window and beyond. I drew my hunting knife and, before she could reorient herself, drove the blade into her throat. She struggled for a good few minutes before becoming still.

I put the car into park and stared at her lifeless corpse.

This is why I don’t have a conscience.

Posted in: Uncategorized